Louisbourg Heritage: From Ruins to Reconstruction

The Fortress of Louisbourg was built on Cape Breton Island by the French after 1713, to protect their economic interests in the North Atlantic and their shipping routes to Quebec. By 1758, when the English besieged the Fortress as a protection from future attack by the French, it had developed into a flourishing town. This book describes the process of research and development that changed the Fortress of Louisbourg from ruins to a reconstruction of the original that provides a living history experience to many thousands of annual visitors.